“Build a man a fire, and he’ll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he’ll be warm for the rest of his life.” – Terry Pratchett

Note: It may be exciting to learn that this is one of the last posts that I wrote in a creative flurry a week or so ago when I decided to follow through and make a blog. Ergo, hopefully this is one of the last of a batch of quick ideas that I barely edited. Please enjoy the mess that follows:

So, I’m a big bag of weird, and therefore I guess it shouldn’t surprise me that I am happier now that I have realized that I am generally not the happiest person. If you’ve read other things I’ve written, you know I spent a while trying to do things the “right” way. I genuinely did enjoy being everyone’s friend, being a team player, and creating a certain image for myself. What I was setting myself up for, however, was a lot of time where spent more time and effort trying to be happy than I was actually happy. Now, if you’ve ever spent more time trying to do something than enjoying doing it, you understand it has to be worth all of that effort. For instance, if your goal is climbing a freaking mountain, it will be worth all the planning and packing when you reach the summit. When your goal is a state of mind, however, it’s not so cut-and-dry.

I’m not saying that I actually happier now. I probably spend about as much time being actually happy now as I did a few years ago. The difference lies in that I am not trying to be happy all of the time. I am not the happiest person I know, and I doubt I ever will be. But my life is a lot better now, for multiple reasons, but one of those reasons is that I learned it’s okay to not be happy. You can’t do one thing all of the time, so like eating pizza: enjoy it when you can.*

What I am saying is that you will be happier when you stop trying to be happy all of the time. Be angry. Be sad. Be confused, aroused, or even be multiple things at once. But for your own sake, don’t you ever think there’s a right or a wrong way to feel.

*= I lied. You can always have pizza. don’t let anyone tell you different.

Leave a Reply

