“A man has no more limits than the strength of his desire.” -Miguel de Cervantes, Don Quixote de La Mancha

When I was younger, I had superpowers.

I was super strong, and super tough. I could jump super high, and run faster than sound. I could feel the vibrations through the ground and even the air. I could also feel the Force, and learned to use it in my dreams.

When I started going to school, I absorbed all of the knowledge with time to spare. And so, in the tedium after learning what was to be learned, I discovered I could do even more. I could take the lines from the floor and raise them into tendrils of sunfire, which I could shift and shape in ways that would boggle a lesser mind. Pretty soon I could hear and smell everything as well, though my eyesight started to fail me at the age of 8.

My friends had superpowers too; I could see it in their eyes.

Before long I could see that my classmates began to lose interest in their gifts, and soon they didn’t even seem to remember they had had them. I clung to mine, using sheer willpower to enter new worlds and learn new abilities. I kept searching for new spell books, each with new ways to adapt my magic. I learned that having only one or two major abilities wasn’t limiting, but instead elegant. And I continued my studies in the ways of the Force.

Eventually, despite my efforts, I began to have other interests as well. It was Music, in the end, which took me away. I was used to listening, you see, and I found that notes became colors, and melodies turned into strokes of the brush. I now had pieces of synesthetic art, both of color and of sound. It wasn’t until later that I realized it had cost me my sunfire.

And so, one by one, my abilities became a little less exceptional. But I do not view it as a loss. My agility is mental, and my resilience, emotional. My senses are duller, but they still yield bouquets of sensation. I have grown, and learned the truth of how much of the real world I have yet to explore. And yes, I can still use the Force in my dreams.

Although life goes on and you forget your superpowers, I think it is very important that you never forget that it’s all an adventure. Because everyone knows adventures can take you anywhere. As it turns out my current job has me interacting with children fairly frequently, and it makes me happy to know that they all have superpowers.

I can see it in their eyes.

20140228-112536.jpg
(Photo was found on Tickld, posed by user Canis765)

Leave a Reply

