“Puns are the highest form of literature.” ― Alfred Hitchcock

I’ve written a few posts about language, to which I am obviously very attracted. Between discussing why I love language, why foreign language drives me crazy, and why English is even worse, I don’t want you to think I’ve forgotten about wordplay. There are many ways to be clever with words and some are more sophisticated than others, but in the voice of an old, wise, fictional man, “If ye don’t know where ta start, go back to ta beginnin’.” (Uncle Alphonse, Escanaba in da Moonlight).

So we’re gonna start with puns.

Yes, I’m serious, this post is about puns.

Okay, I’m pretty sure most of you just clicked back over to read your Facebook news feeds, because that might seem less painful. So if you’re still here, you’re probably one of my friends. If you are one of those sad, sad people, then you already know how much I love puns, so I won’t spend too much time writing clever things, and instead share as many awesome ones as possible. Okay, okay, I’m going already!

Some are more classic:

697219Some are more visual:

tumblr_mvhykc48iE1sgxad8o3_500
Some are groaners:

tumblr_mvhykc48iE1sgxad8o2_500

Some are fairly sophisticated (for a pun):

666556

Almost classy, even:

699393

And some just aren’t:

Tumblr+puns.+Do+they+just+like...+think+this+up+or_71a4ed_4613545

Some of them come in floods (I like to call this the pun-train):

tumblr_mvhykc48iE1sgxad8o1_500

But usually, when it comes to puns, you find yourself thinking:

“I can’t
tumblr_inline_ms2q4h6tiW1qz4rgp
these are so bad.

I mean seriously,
tumblr_inline_mkzx01x5BH1qz4rgp

Okay, okay, that was awful, I know. I’ll stop, just one last thing. It isn’t a pun, just something funny:

694439
Yeah, you’re glad you stuck around, aren’t you? Well you’re welcome.

One thought on ““Puns are the highest form of literature.” ― Alfred Hitchcock

Leave a Reply

