“True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist.” -Albert Einstein

It’s not every day that you find something both brilliant and heart-achingly beautiful. I’ve mentioned before that I love the gorgeous, natural places on Earth, and how they keep me motivated to explore, but I’m not opposed to some man-made beauty, either. I recently got wind of The Underwater Museum, and it blew me away.

20140402-181143.jpg

Remember to click the pic to read the article!

Jason deCaires Taylor is the artist/photographer, and naturalist, and is based out of Puerto Morelos, Mexico. He founded the world’s first “underwater sculpture park.” El Museo Subaquatico de Arte helps bring attention away from coral reefs which are suffering from the attentions of tourism.

p01wpmtt

Using a pH-neutral cement, Taylor created a series of life-size sculptures which depict real life scenarios. These sculptures are designed to be eerily (and awesomely) overrun by undersea life, giving texture and color to different scenes, including a man sitting on the sofa and watching TV. Probably my favorite is the series of bankers, who have their heads in the sand.

p01wpmnq

The space between their legs is also a good habitat for fish and crustaceans.

Probably my favorite quote from Taylor is in reference to his street artist background, where he says, “Instead of leaving my mark on the environment with my work, the environment is leaving its mark on my work.” Genius.

(All pictures and El Museo Subaquatico de Arte belong to the BBC and Jason deCaires Taylor)

One thought on ““True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist.” -Albert Einstein

  1. Natural places on earth keep me motivated to explore as well while some man-made beauty touch make them perfect for sight view and appreciation of work of nature. Your post on “True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist” make my day!

Leave a Reply

