“The Internet is a telephone system that’s gotten uppity.” -Clifford Stoll

Can we talk about how excited I am that we keep making awesome technology things? Because it’s getting awesome and exciting.

First off, we’ve had pretty amazing voice recognition software publicly available in things like iPhones (2011) and the Xbox Kinect (2010) for the past three years, which makes fictional inventions like Tony Stark/Iron Man’s JARVIS super freaking believable, and come on, you know you want an Iron Man suit.

2008_iron_man_001-620x413

Though RDJ wears it better than I would.

The other still-recent-but-widely-known product is the Google Glass, which developers have been, well, developing since 2013 and is supposed to become available in 2014. Glass uses voice recognition software as well, and I think it looks really fun to use.

google-glass1

As long as you’re okay with looking like this guy.

Glass is awesome to me because it’s the first personal-computing system you can actually wear, which has been a sci-fi staple for as long as I can remember. So yeah, I nerded out a little bit back when they were first announced.

The other most recent thing seems to be virtual reality devices, which Facebook and Sony have certainly latched onto. I’ve wanted a virtual reality simulator for home use since I was a kid, so needless to say I was pretty pumped to see this stuff in the news.

sonyvirtualrealitydemo_616

facebook-buys-oculus-vr-for-2-billion

So, clearly, there’s only one thing to do with all this technology: Combine it. If I can’t have my own Iron Man suit, at least I should be able to simulate one.

Leave a Reply

