“Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that.” -Norman Vincent Peale

There are two things you need to know before reading this post:

1. Feminism means equality for everyone. There is nothing else to it, no hidden agendas, just that everyone should be treated equally.
2. I am a Feminist.

Now to recap, because I know there are some people who might get lost in the long and complicated explanation above: I am a feminist because I believe everyone should be treated the same, regardless of race, gender, sexuality or religion. If you believe these things as well, then you are also a feminist.

You all got it? Excellent, the educational part is over. Now we can move on and I can address an issue that has really been bugging me ever since I realized people treat boys and girls differently:

Girls don’t get actual pockets.

I know, right? As a guy, when I go to the “guys” section of my local clothing store, I am guaranteed to buy pants that have pockets that will at least fit my wallet and cellphone, probably along with a small child. In fact, if you’re not careful, you might buy a piece of clothing that seems to be entirely made of pockets. If you think I’m kidding, consider this: most “guys” jeans have a pocket inside another pocket. Nearly every pair of pants I own has a pocket-ception.

Jeans “made for girls” have pockets that don’t even fit half of a hand. And I’m not talking about my big old bear paws, here. We’re talking skinny lady hands that don’t fit (you could probably only get two or three of my sausage fingers in there.) Going one step further, a lot of pants in the girls section don’t have pockets at all. What kind of crap is that? I can’t imagine buying pants with no pockets.

But the worst offenders of all are the pseudo-pockets. If you buy lady-pants you know what I mean; these little bastards look like pockets, but don’t open. As in they are sewn shut. This is a thing I thought only existed on suit jackets. And if I bought a nice pair of pants and then discovered they had fake pockets? Heads would roll.

Why should women (and really anyone who wants to buy lady-pants) accept this level of inequality? We should be demanding real pockets for these people. In the name of civil liberties, we must stand up and say, “Nay! Womens’ pants should not come with a mandatory side of injustice and false promises.”

2 thoughts on ““Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that.” -Norman Vincent Peale

  1. I’ve totally noticed this from all my Old Navy & Aeropostale runs. Men’s pockets are deep enough to actually hold stuff, but women’s pockets are practically there for show. We even did a unit on men’s vs. women’s clothing in my Gender Comm class senior year!

Leave a Reply

