“Meditate on this, I will.” -Yoda, Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones

Today is not about science or technology or language or grumpiness, because I like to keep you on your toes. Or maybe because I get bored easily.

But today isn’t even about getting bored. It’s about knowing exactly where you are and what you’re doing, if only for a minute.

I’ve experimented with a couple different forms of meditation, the easiest of which is just walking or running. Aerobic exercise is proven to help you think, and if you’ve never just gone on a walk by yourself, you would be surprised how beneficial it can be. Believe it or not, all parts of your body will function better when your heart starts pumping more blood through your veins. It’s almost as if we weren’t meant to sit around all day.

Light aerobic exercise is a simple form of what I call “Moving Meditation” (I’m not claiming I coined the term, I just don’t know what else to call it.) The more complex versions are commonly found in martial arts and the various forms of dance. Practicing a choreographed series of moves builds muscle memory, which eventually takes over. Ask any martial artist or dancer, and they’ll tell you it’s a great way to clear your mind.

I did martial arts for years, but it wasn’t until I began to practice Yoga that I ever tried to actually, you know, sit down and meditate. This form of meditation (which I guess is the actual form of meditation) attracts a lot of skepticism because of its portrayal in pop culture. Meditation is largely thought of as spiritual practice, and a lot of people have trouble believing you can just start doing it.

I’m not saying that meditation is not spiritual. If you meditate in order to connect with your god, or the Universe, or whatever, I am not saying you’re wrong.  But personally I don’t use meditation to look outward, because I’ve never found anything when I tried.

I meditate to clear my mind, to relieve tension, to see who I am and what I am doing in one single moment. I may spend the rest of my day caught up in plans and worries, but for just a few minutes I can stop my mind from racing, and know that the world keeps turning.

Leave a Reply

