“You don’t have to test everything to destruction just to see if you made it right.” -Neil Gaiman

Back when I started recommending books, my first thought was to recommend one book in particular. I postponed because I wanted to feel out the recommendation process, see how well I did before choosing something great. So I guess you could say this recommendation is the culmination of my previous recommendations.

Another reason I waited was so that I could write about Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman beforehand, so that anyone who reads this will know what I’m talking about. Because they co-authored this novel, so yeah, it’s incredible.

I love co-authored books, and even more so if I know one or both authors ahead of time. But both Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman are British fantasy-fiction giants. Putting the two together is the best idea anyone has had since Peanut Butter & Banana sandwiches. Or Nutella & Peanut Butter. Or maybe just Peanut Butter and whatever. They’re like the Simon & Garfunkel of literature, only British and probably brain-addled (so, basically a Hugh Laurie/Stephen Fry combo, which I also recommend.)

Pratchett & Gaiman’s literary love-child is titled Good Omens, and is a ridiculously great blend of the authors’ best aspects. In fact I’m pretty sure the British government almost legalized same-sex marriage back in 1990 when it was published, because dang. I’m pretty sure Good Omens makes the authors’ human children jealous. I’ve even heard rumors that if either Pratchett or Gaiman perish, the novel gets all their stuff.

At this point I guess I should discuss the book, in case you want to hear about it for some reason. Good Omens is centered on the End of Days (yes, those capitalizations are required.) The novel starts with the birth of the Antichrist and gets weirder from there. A bookish angel and a flashy demon, both of whom are supposed to be trying to influence the Childe, decide to work together and see what happens. Also there are hellhounds and witches and witch-hunters. Plus, in true Pratchett style, we get the personifications of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. And everything is very British, all around.

I don’t want to ruin any surprises, so that’s all you get. The novel is very funny and very clever. Gaiman’s ethereal cheekiness mixes very well with Pratchett’s simple-yet-incredibly-apt satire. Go read it. You’ll thank me.

20140509-094253.jpg

One thought on ““You don’t have to test everything to destruction just to see if you made it right.” -Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

