“The idea of capitalism is not just success but also the failure that allows success to happen.” -P. J. O’Rourke

You may have seen in the news recently that there’s been some outrage at the new developments around the 9/11 Memorial building. To me, this sounded pretty similar to back in 200? when victim’s families were outraged that a non-affiliated group wanted to build a mosque in the area nearby. I was only a little surprised that the mosque was ordered not to be built, but I do understand that prejudice is hard to argue against in the face of a tragedy.
It has, however, been more than a decade and while I don’t expect that we should forget or forgive the tragedy, I can’t imagine that any addition to the Memorial would be that offens-
3760699_G
Oh wait, s***, seriously?
051814_giftshop_930
… seriously?
Okaaaay. Okay. I take that back.
Wow, that’s really offensive. Like super-duper offensive. Like, I don’t support the idea that a person being offended is a valid reason that we have to change things, but holy wah, that makes me cringe.
Just…. Just…. What?
What are you going to sell? At best, I guess it’ll be models of the original twin towers like the picture above. But I mean that’s the only thing I can think of that would be okay.
But that got me thinking: How bad could it be? What would be the worst thing to sell?
(Jenga©. Jenga would be the worst thing to sell. Yeah, I’m sorry about that.)
Anyway, I could make terrible jokes for a while at this point, because I’m a terrible person. But even I have limits, so I’ll stop there. But this whole “9/11 Memorial Gift Shop” thing is, in my opinion, horribly insensitive at best. So I’ll leave you with a scathing Haiku.
Our capitalism
Is a weed, growing wherever
Our blood in the soil
Scathing.
Leave a Reply

