“All paid jobs absorb and degrade the mind.” -Aristotle

I have mentioned that I spend a lot of time thinking about the future, and this is especially true in my current situation because I am saving money and waiting to be able to travel. The other day, however, my reverie was disrupted due to an altercation between my supervisor and another coworker.
The conflict itself didn’t surprise me, though it did escalate rather quickly, because these two individuals have never gotten along in the first place. No, what shook me was how much it bothered me that the workplace was disrupted in that way. Here I am, one foot out the door (though nobody knows that, so shhhh!) and somehow I was upset that things were changing.
Just to clarify, I am not referring to my annoyance and disappointment in regards to my coworker and supervisor. Those feelings were expected. What I wasn’t ready for was thinking, “Aw man, we had something good going here,” because I have always considered this job to be temporary.
I’m not trying to be too suspicious of these feelings, because I know that I am happy enough at my job and get along with my coworkers. Getting comfortable, however, scares me because I know how easy it is to stay in one place. My job is easy, the people here are easy, and I’ve gotten used to waking up early and driving here every day.
But I’m not challenged and I’m not excited. I do sleep easy and save money, and there’s value in that (literally, heh), but only because I see much brighter horizons around the corner.

 

Leave a comment